Dance enables you to find yourself and lose yourself at the same time

dance3When dancing you take on two roles; that of an artist and an athlete. You must have the strength and stamina of an athlete, but the expression of an artist. For me, dancing isn’t about being the best in the room, it’s about doing my personal best. As Martha Graham said, “Nobody cares if you can’t dance well. Just get up and dance. Great dancers are great because of their passion.”. Dancing is graceful, strong, hard, emotional and so many other things. Dance is about preparing, learning, performing; it is about the whole process. As a dancer, I am often drawn to ballet. I admire it’s graceful and classic qualities. dance2 I especially enjoy my dance class because the class trusts and supports one another. Feeling safe around the people you dance with is important when trying new things in dance. We do all different kinds of dances so my classmates and I have lots of room to learn and explore. Dancing has taught me so much about myself and others. I’ve learned strengths and weaknesses, and I’ve learned to push myself. I’ve seen that it is better to try your best then to not try at all, which applies not only to dance. Dancing has made me feel good about myself and more active. Young or old, It’s never too late to start! Dancing keeps you active, healthy and happy. “Dance enables you to find yourself and lose yourself at the same time”~Peter Townsend

dance1

(All photos taking by myself and a special thank you to my classmate who is pictured)

Leave a Reply

