A not so Little Woman

As a young girl my favorite book was Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, a novel originally published in two installments in 1868 and 1869. It is a story of four sisters; Meg, the eldest of the sisters who was described as beautiful with a calming presence, Jo, the second eldest and most wild of the sisters who I could not help but love, Beth, who is sweet and giving, and finally the youngest, Amy, who longs to see more of her elder sisters world. Jo is the writer of the bunch and writes plays which the four sister perform to keep busy. In this story we watch these sisters grow up, and even marry. Despite having grown up a bit myself, this story is still definitely one of my favorites and I often find myself cozily re-reading it on many a grey day.

Louisa May Alcott is the author of this semi-biographical work. While the book is fiction, it was loosely based on Louisa and her three sisters, with her self as the model for Jo. She was raised by transcendentalist parents and grew up around some well-known intellectuals such as Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau. She was a feminist and abolitionist. Louisa May Alcott wrote many words the world enjoys today. 

Two years ago I was able to visit Louisa May Alcott’s Orchard House in Concord Massachusetts. She wrote and set Little Women there, so it was very interesting to physically see the story come alive. The house was set up very much like how it would have been in the Alcott’s day. It was cozy, and had many nooks and cranny’s that I could imagine Louisa and her sisters enjoying.

When I visited the Alcott’s Orchard house it looked a lot like the picture above. I hope to visit it again in other seasons for I imagine it would be very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

